U is for……


Another Goddess I had never heard of.  She is the Goddess of joy, happiness and good health.   She is a Japanese Shinto Goddess.  She is known as the Daughter of Heaven and Heaven’s Forthright Female.

U is for……


To uncast anything is merely to reverse the process, such as when a witch casts a circle she will reverse the process she used initially to uncast it.

U is also for unity, something I would love to see a lot more of.  A lot of witches get on just fine, recognise that we all have different views on stuff and are all entitled to our own opinions on something.  But there is, as with all of humankind, a small group who will verbally attack anyone who disagrees with their own way of thinking.  Remember my post on the fluffy bashers?  To unite as one group, i.e. witches/pagans etc with similar views about such matters would be far better than attacking everyone who holds a different opinion to us.

T is for……


A talisman is an object that a witch imbues with power and energy.  These items can be as basic as a stone or pebble being imbued for protection, to elaborate items being imbued with energies for healing, or bringing about a specific change.
Many cultures and religions believe in the power of talismans and many objects can be used.  a talisman can be used for just about any purpose, and really needn’t be that difficult to charge up.

S is for…….


The Sabbats are the witches holidays, if you like.  They represent the circle of life, birth, life, death and rebirth.  There are 8 sabbats in total:

Samhain – celebrated on October 31st.  This is the Witch’s New Year, the traditional end of the growing season.  This is the time of the Lord’s death and where the veil between our world and the world of the dead is at it’s thinnest.  We celebrate by remembering the dead, maybe laying a place for them at our feast.  We also mark the end of the year by doing divination, seeing what the coming year will bring by using our favourite divination method(s).

Yule – celebrated on or around December 21st.  Also known as the Winter Solstice.  This is the time where the Goddess gives birth to the God.  This is the return of the sun/son.  It is also the time of the shortest day of the year.  At this time we celebrate our family and friends, we celebrate peace, love and light.

Imbolc  – celebrated on or around February 1st.  Also known as Candlemas.  We are celebrating birth now, early signs of spring and rebirth are starting to emerge – the first shoots are appearing, lambs are being born.  The God is growing fast now, he is no longer a baby but a fine young boy.

Ostara – celebrated around March 21st.  Also known as the Spring Equinox.  It is when the Goddess and the God begin their courtship, now he is a fine young man.  Day and night are now equal, balance is being restored.  Traditionally a time of rebirth.  Spring has finally sprung and there are plenty of signs of new life all around us.  It is a time for new beginnings.

Beltane – celebrated on May 1st.  The time when the Lord and Lady consummate their relationship.  This sabbat is all about fertility, so you should finish your seed planting now and maybe finalise plans you have been making for your life.

Litha – celebrated on or around June 21st.  Also known as the Summer Solstice, the longest day of the year.  It is midsummer.  The Goddess is pregnant with the God now.  It is a great time for handfastings and marriages of any sort – my own wedding was June 23rd, many moons ago.  Everything is ripe and abundant now, but we are mindful that nothing lasts forever.  Within a few days the seemingly everlasting light will begin to wain again.  The God is at his peak now.

Lughnasadh – celebrated on August 1st, or thereabouts.  It is the first of the harvest festivals.  A time for giving thanks for what we have.

Mabon – celebrated on or around September 21st.  Another of the harvest festivals and also another time of balance.  The dark will now overtake the light, as we move towards Samhain and Yule again.  Traditionally a time for giving thanks and enjoying the benefits of what we have grown this past year.  The God rests inside the womb of the Goddess now, waiting to be reborn at Yule.

The Wheel Of The Year

R is for ……


Runes are letters from ancient alphabets, such as Scandanavian and Germanic speaking nations.  They were used to communicate but are more commonly used as a divination tool nowadays.  Some witches use the runic alphabet to write in their Book of Shadows, or for spellwork, feeling it gives a more authentic look.